Giving Up Your Life for Art

Greenonyx3As I sit and contemplate another snow day, my first thought is–Okay!  I have time to “play!” Then I say–“I mean–work!”

You see-I have 2 lives…By day a music therapist in a school system, and by night I am a jewelry artist-

iStock_000007676349_Large copy

So what does this work-play mean?  It means spending another day in the studio designing and creating more art.  And for most people, it sounds like a dream–to have the ability to make and create things whenever they want. To have NO supervisor or boss that dictates how your day will go, to not have a critique of your work, to decide what your hours will be and how much time you will spend during your lunch hour.  Sounds great–right?

It would be my fantasy to live this way–to be an artist and to live life the way I want to.  Unfortunately–it is only a fantasy for most artists.  Very few  can command the money for their art that to make a living, and must work at other steady jobs in order to be able to create.

I am fortunate in that I have a creative full time job as a music therapist, another way in which I am able to express myself through art.  And I love my job–helping others use music as a way to express themselves, to learn, to heal, and to develop a sense of self.  But I am also passionately drawn to the solitude of creating my own piece, with my own ideas.

Painting of abstract painting with paintbrushes

Working in a school system does allow me the schedule to create jewelry art on the “off” hours, and I use every opportunity to create that is available to me.  This means nights and weekends where I am not out socializing, spending time with neighbors and friends.

I believe this is the story of many artists.  There are so many creative souls out there–yet our society says art is not a priority–it is an “extra” a “frill” and that one must make a living elsewhere.  That art is play, and play is not work.

hands working on pottery wheel

Well–Can you imagine a life without the beauty of art?  Music, paintings, sculpture, jewelry, metalwork, textiles, architecture, graphic design–these are all arts!  What is the value of this?  And how many artists have given up their social lives to create for us?

Lynne Patnode makes sterling silver stone jewelry. You can see her creations at SilverSpiral Creations Etsy Shop and you can visit her website at Here

Man's hand playing piano.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

